FIFA World Cup 2010

World Cup 2010 South Africa 2010 will be the 19th FIFA World Cup. It is the first World Cup to be staged on the African continent, leaving Oceania as the only populated continent never to have hosted the event. The tournament is scheduled to take place between 11th June and 11th July among 10 of South Africa’s major cities.

Of the five African nations with bids to host the cup - South Africa, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, and Tunisia - South Africa prevailed after one round of voting. Morocco was the only serious contender to South Africa, with Tunisia pulling out due to FIFA’s decision not to allow co-hosted tournaments (with Libya), Libya’s subsequent weak solo bid, and Egypt’s no votes. South Africa was announced the winner on 15th May, 2004 in Zurich by FIFA president, Sepp Blatter.

World Cup 2010 Voting Results:

 • South Africa - 14 votes
 • Morocco - 10 votes
 • Egypt - 0 votes
 • Tunisia withdraw after no joint-bidding decision
 • Libya was not considered - bid did not meet the list of requirements

World Cup 2010 Qualification

As the host nation, South Africa qualifies automatically for the World Cup, and the preliminary draw will be held in Durban on 23rd November, 2007.
Qualification for the various football confederations is different:

Europe (UEFA)
Group drawing will take place in early 2008 and qualification starts in September of that year. Having the highest number of teams in the World Cup, Europe has 13 berths.

South America (CONMEBOL)
The CONMEBOL qualification process runs on a league system, with home and away matches, for a single group of 10 associations - play-off against North, Central America and the Caribbean. The start date is earlier than European qualification in September/October, 2007, and 4.5 berths are awarded.

North, Central American and the Caribbean (CONCACAF)
The CONCACAF qualification is to be advised… with play-offs against South America and 3.5 berths available.

Asia (AFC)
The AFC qualification process is to be advised... with the Oceania champion included in the final stage of qualifying and 4.5 berths available.

Africa (CAF)
The CAF qualification begins on 13th or 14th October 2007 and there will be six berths. As the hosts, South Africa has qualified automatically.

Oceania (OFC)
Half a berth is available and the winner of the 2008 OFC Nations Cup will be included in the final round of Asian qualification.

World Cup 2010 Venues

Organizers for FIFA World Cup 2010 chose 10 South African venues to host the tournament in nine cities, which were officially announced on 17th March, 2006:

City Stadium Seats
Johannesburg Soccer City 94,700
Durban King Senzangakhona Stadium 70,000
Cape Town The Greenpoint Stadium 68,000
Johannesburg Ellis Park Stadium 60,000
Pretoria Loftus Versfeld 52,000
Port Elizabeth Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium 50,000
Bloemfontein Free State Stadium 48,000
Polokwane Peter Mokaba Stadium 45,000
Nelspruit Mbombela Stadium 43,000
Rustenburg Royal Bafokeng Stadium 40,000

Bookmark and Share

Golden Boot

© Copyright 2005-2015 | Site design by